You are here

Back to top

Virtual Book Talk • Brian Phillip Whalen

Join us as we welcome Brian Phillip Whalen to a virtual book talk with Ernest & Hadley Books! He will discuss his new book: Semiotic Love [stories], which draws upon symbols and objects to explore the loss of relationships. The virtual event starts at 5:00 PM CST. To participate, please reserve your spot here by Friday, March 5 at 11:00 AM. We will then send you the Zoom link and passcode to participate.

In these pages, Brian Phillip Whalen reaches deep into the throat of anxiety with a graceful hand and understated humor as he confronts mothers and best friends dying slow or sudden deaths, disappointing vacations, and vanishing sisters. While loss of all kinds permeates these compact stories, it is the tenderness and longing that attaches itself to the reader and propels them to turn the page. This book reminds us that for better or for worse, we’re all a little rougher with the people we love the most.

Fans of Lydia Davis, Stuart Dybek, Sarah Manguso, and Donald Barthelme will find a kindred spirit in Brian Phillip Whalen. Semiotic Love’s brevity and evocative, lingering moments go hand in hand. Its stories can be read over breakfast or while you wait for the bus but will stay with you much longer.

Brian Phillip Whalen’s work can be found in The Southern Review, Creative Nonfiction, Copper Nickel, the Flash Nonfiction Food anthology, and elsewhere. Brian holds a PhD from the State University of New York at Albany and is the recipient of a Vermont Studio Center residency. He lives with his wife and daughter in Tuscaloosa where he teaches creative and first-year writing at The University of Alabama. This is his first book.

Event Date: 
Friday, March 5, 2021 - 5:00pm to 5:45pm
Address: 
1928 7th Street
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401-1829

Shopping Tips & Updates

COVID-19 UPDATE (July 31, 2021)

1. We are following CDC guidelines for in-person shopping. Our staff is fully vaccinated, but with Delta surging and Alabama's vaccination rate the national caboose, masks are required to enter. We are still offering curbside pickup if you prefer. Pay ahead online, select "in-store pickup," and when you receive notification that your order is ready, simply call from the 7th Street entrance: (205) 632-5331.

2. Please anticipate 3-5 business days for in-store pickup. We will let you know of any further delays, but if you need an item right away please call to see if it is in stock: (205) 632-5331.

3. Have questions about what it's like to get the vaccine? We're happy to discuss our experiences! 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

Items appearing here do not necessarily indicate what is currently in stock at Ernest & Hadley Books. The product information displayed are records of books that have been, are, or will be available. 

Please call ahead if you would like to see if it is currently in-stock: (205) 632-5331, OR use this as your guide: click here 

Please visit our Help/FAQs page for more helpful tips, or Important Terms & Conditions for how to use a gift card and other pertinent details about your order.

Any other questions, just ask! Happy browsing ~ Happy reading!